RSPB Classic easy-clean seed feeder - medium

R421022
£ 10.99
Read all reviews
    Expected back in stock:
    26/10/20
    £ 10.99
    True
    £ 10.99
    RSPB > Bird care > Bird feeders > Seed feeders

    Product information

    Improved for summer 2018 with a new perch shape to allow birds to grip more easily. Made with tough, durable UV-stabilised polycarbonate tubing. The medium is 49cm tall with four ports and holds 1 litre of seeds.

    Please note: If you have squirrels and/or parakeets in your garden, they may chew through or damage parts of this feeder. Instead we recommend our 'Ultimate' easy-clean seed feeder.





    R421022
    5060417716333

    Delivery & returns

    • FREE UK delivery for orders of £50 or more (or £3.95)
    • Delivery of in stock items in approx. 4-5 days

    See our delivery and returns page for full details.

    RSPB Shop offers a no-quibble free returns policy. We hope you will be delighted with every purchase, but if not, we will offer you a replacement or a full refund - whatever the reason. Just let us know within 90 days of delivery by contacting our customer service team on 0345 034 7733. Full details of our returns policy >

    Ratings and reviews

    Rating Snapshot

    5
    1
    4
    0
    3
    2
    2
    2
    1
    2

    Average Customer Reviews

    Value for money:
    Quality

    We'd like your opinion! Rate and review this item

    Age: 55 - 64

    21/Jan/2020
    Pretty good, I think.
    I think this feeder deserves some praise, even though the birds were slow to accept it, and some still haven't.  (One wonders how much design analysis does - or can - go into such products.  Could the perches be too wide for a sparrow's comfort?  Is the transparent plastic more reflective that others, perhaps giving off disturbing flashes of light?)

    The perches are easy to release, by pressing up the lever between the two sides of the perch, and bringing it out at the bottom.  There is a bit of a knack to releasing the topmost part of the perch, but it isn't really difficult and does not require any great force.  Having released the two lower perches, the base simply slides out.  It is much quicker to dismantle that my previous RSPB feeder, with the screw-in perches.  It may not last as long, but I think it will be good value for money.

    It took about a week, for birds to use this feeder in any numbers - first the goldfinches, then the chaffinches and great tits.  After a fortnight of being used, the house sparrows have yet to return - and perhaps the blue tits also - although the tree sparrows use it.  I hope the house sparrows will return: I may alternate this feeder with my previous one (which is many years old and now badly cracked).
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you and the birds are enjoying this feeder. Birds are wary creatures and can take time to adapt to any new feeder, so it actually sounds like you have had a very fast uptake!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 55 - 64

    11/Jul/2019
    missold!!
    This product should be withdrawn from sale until labelling is corrected. It is NOT SUITABLE for black sunflower seeds - they do not flow through the narrow tube and past the ports without a good shake of the tube.
    RSPB response
    Thank you. We are sorry that you were disappointed with this purchase. We are not aware of any flow issues and you may have a faulty item. Please could you contact customer services with further details?
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    14/Mar/2019
    rspb classic feeder
    base was extremely difficult to replace after cleaning. In the end i gave up and disposed of it. Very disappointed as previous models were excellent.
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about the difficulty you had with this. These are designed for easy assembly and the base should just slide in. This must be done before the feeder ports are inserted, however, as the bottom ports hold the ba
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    18/Feb/2019
    The birds don't like it!
    I've had the feeder up for at least two weeks but most of the birds boycott it and go to the old one with the single spar perch. It's the same seed in both, both were topped up on Saturday, the old one is empty the new one has barely gone down at all.
    RSPB response
    Thank you. We are sorry that you are disappointed with this. Birds are wary creatures and can take time to adjust to any new feeder. We would recommend giving it a few more weeks or, if that doesn't work, changing the siting.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    13/Feb/2019
    Misleading
    Two stars for quality because this is not easy to clean the ports are difficult to remove and replace due to poorly cut out slots in the body of the feeder. 3 stars for value because they are cheap therefore I cannot be bothered to return as the replacement might be no better. so we will use it and struggle with the cleaning
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with this. This may be a faulty item. If you contact customer services they will be happy to help.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 55 - 64

    24/Jan/2019
    No defence against marauders
    Unfortunately neither squirrels nor parakeets found this feeder fit for purpose, so between them chewed through the ports and surrounding plastic casing. It’s no longer fit to hold seeds so I’ll try a feeder with metal ports next.
    RSPB response
    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, sorry you are disappointed, however we do make it clear that the plastic feeders are not suitable for gardens with squirrels or parakeets, we always recommend the metal ones for those gardens.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    01/Dec/2018
    Not as good as expected
    I wanted this so that more than 2 birds could feed at once but have found that the seeds do not drop down to the lowest portholes. I use feeder mix extra and I find that the sunflower seeds prevent any seed dropping down. I am constantly shaking it up to help the process I will either have to buy seed without the bigger type (sunflower) or not use. Waste of money?
    RSPB response
    Thank you. We are sorry to hear about the problems you have had with this and will pass on your feedback to the product team. Our No Mess Sunflower Mix could be a good alternative as this is packed full of nutritious premium sunflower hearts without shells
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    Show all

    You may also like