Favourites blend extra bird food

R420101
£ 23.49 - £ 75.98
Read all reviews
    In Stock
    £ 23.49
    True
    £ 23.49
    RSPB > Bird food > Bird seed > Seed mixes

    FREE UK delivery with orders over £50

    We accept Visa, Mastercard and PayPal

    Product information

    Our Favourites blend bird food has become the ‘go-to’ garden bird food for our customers and has proved incredibly popular with your garden birds. This new Favourites blend extra mix contains the same three best-selling ingredients, but we’ve more than doubled the proportion of Dried mealworms and added more High energy suet sprinkles to the blend.

    This blend can be fed all year round, easily sprinkled onto a bird table or the ground. We recommend that this mix is not fed from feeders.

    • Top quality Premium sunflower hearts, Dried mealworms and High energy sprinkles.
    • Now with even more protein from mealworms.
    • Suitable for all garden birds.
    • Not suitable for gardens with dogs.
    • Packaging is recyclable. 


      Get ready for Bird Garden birdwatch with our top picks and essentials for feeding the birds and making it a fun occasion.


    Type of bird
    • Blackbird
    • Blue tit
    • Chaffinch
    • Coal tit
    • Doves & pigeons
    • Goldfinch
    • Great tit
    • Greenfinch
    • Long-tailed tit
    • Robin
    • Song thrush
    • Sparrow
    • Starling
    • Wren


    Delivery & returns

    • Free UK delivery for orders of £30 or more (or £3.95)*

    See our delivery and returns page for full details.

    RSPB Shop offers a no-quibble free returns policy. We hope you will be delighted with every purchase, but if not, we will offer you a replacement or a full refund - whatever the reason. Just let us know within 90 days of delivery by contacting our customer service team on 0345 034 7733. Full details of our returns policy >

    *Free delivery when you spend £30 offer ends 14th September 2021

    Ratings and reviews

    Rating Snapshot

    5
    7
    4
    2
    3
    4
    2
    2
    1
    1

    Average Customer Reviews

    Value for money:
    Quality

    We'd like your opinion! Rate and review this item

    Age: 55 - 64

    10/Jul/2021
    Back on great form
    This is to update and replace my previous review.I previously submitted a review to say that disappointingly, after it had been a regular purchase for some time, I had been disappointed with batches of this product. However, my last three orders have all been completely back on form and the birds can't get enough of it.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    07/Jun/2021
    Irresistible
    Our birds go mad for this seed mixture. We have never had so many varied birds as we do now, ranging from goldfinches and dunnocks through to great spotted woodpeckers and starlings and the pigeons and squirrels who tidy up the bits that fall onto the ground.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 35 - 44

    30/Apr/2021
    Much improved (updated review)
    This is an update to my previous review, as there has been a change in the quality of this product - original review is below. The issue with the product being VERY dusty appears to have been resolved, and isolated to a specific batch. RSPB have clearly actioned the feedback they've received. Last two batches have been dust free, and perfect! No more clogged feeders or paying for useless dust!
    This product (along with nest boxes and fat balls) have helped turn our garden into a tiny sanctuary. Blackbirds, robins, sparrows and blue tits are all nesting and raising young this year, within a 8m x 8m area. Starlings and Wrens have become semi-regular visitors, dropping in to use the services.


    Original Review
    Our birds love this. Paired blackbirds wait every morning for their breakfast. The Sparrows arrive in hoards. Paired Robins are often picking the leftovers. We won't talk about the pigeons... However, this product is really dusty!! Fine for throwing on the lawn for the blackbirds, but in feeders it gets gunked up pretty quick - so be prepared to clean the feeder every time you fill it.
    Nearly didn't buy again because of the dust problem (how much of the weight is actually useless dust?). Seriously needs looking at - this will be the last purchase if it arrives as dusty as the last sack.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 55 - 64

    28/Apr/2021
    Product dust content getting worse
    I purchase 'Favourites blend extra bird food' like the previous reviewer find it very dusty. We have the Squirrel Buster Mini seed feeders which need unclogging after any rain as the dust becomes a semi-solid congealed mess. I believe the dust is a recent development as last summer the large sacks were fine.
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase. Dust can sometimes come off the suet pellets in transit, though we do not recommend that this mix is fed from feeders. This is a table or ground mix.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    26/Apr/2021
    My birds' favourite
    I have been buying Favourites Blend Extra for some years. All our garden birds are attracted to it and there is never any waste. What falls to the ground when the aerial feeders are eating, and whatever I throw out together with suet sprinkles,, is invariably found and enjoyed by robins, sparrows, chaffinches, blackbirds, starlings, jackdaws, magpies, doves and pigeons, and pheasants. even our visiting pied wagtails manage to find soft bits for themselves. This is the only seed I ever buy, summer and winter, because it ensures our garden is always alive with well-fed birds.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 45 - 54

    14/Apr/2021
    Far too dusty
    I have been buying the favourites blend for years and think it fantastic but thought I would try this and get a better quality. I was extremely disappointed to find that it is very dusty and messy and the birds who ate the previous blend won't touch this. I'm going vack to the original mix
    RSPB response
    Thank you. Sorry you were disappointed with your purchase. Dust can come off the suet sprinkles in transit. Our Extra blend contains the same high quality ingredients as our Favourites, except with a higher percentage of sprinkles and double the mealworms.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 45 - 54

    13/Feb/2021
    Great Food Mix
    The birds absolutely love this mix. It's fed on a ground feeder and it's gone within minutes. Even the birds that normally feed from the hanging feeders come down for it.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    29/Jan/2021
    disappointing
    very disappointing, I would not recommend or buy again. As soon as it rains, the mix goes soggy and clogs up the feeder. The feeders are RSPB feeders!
    RSPB response
    Thank you. Bird feeders will sometimes clog in wet weather conditions, if they are not sheltered. If the problem persists and there is no natural shelter available, we do also sell a feeder rain guard on our website called the Rain Away.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 55 - 64

    10/Jan/2021
    I wish I’d read the reviews!
    I wish I’d read the reviews before I ordered 25k of this bird food. The quality is terrible, bags full of dust with a few bits and pieces mixed in. It falls through the portals in my bird feeders and makes a soggy mess on the grass. It’s going to take a long time to use up the 25k and I won’t be buying this again.
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your purchase. Please contact customer services with the batch number and they will be happy to help.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    23/Dec/2020
    Not ideal for feeders
    We've had several bags with the food dust problem too. When sprinkled on the ground there's nothing left once the birds have had their meal. However, the bird feeders get clogged up as the dust sticks to the sides. Easy for us to empty out but not so easy for the hungry birds.
    Similar issue with table feeding. We're cleaning the residue dust off the surface much more often. Hope you can get this problem sorted out soon otherwise we may have to move to another blend.
    RSPB response
    Thank you. It is great to hear that birds enjoy the mix, though we are sorry about the dust problems you have experienced with this. We do not recommend the Favourites Blend for seed feeders as the mix contains suet pellets and mealworms.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    19/Dec/2020
    Disappointed
    The last 12.75kg sack was very very dusty. This happened before some months ago then it improved again. It has clogged up my feeders and stops the food falling. I hope this doesn't continue or will stop buying
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase and that the dust issue has recurred. We will speak to our supplier.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    16/Nov/2020
    My view
    The bag I received contained a lot of dust and my birds reject the sunflower seeds (masses left on the table and on the ground)
    RSPB response
    We are sorry that you were disappointed. The dust comes from the suet pellets - some batches are better than others and we are working to reduce this. Regarding the Sunflower Hearts, birds will often prioritise their favourite ingredients first.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 45 - 54

    28/Jul/2020
    Keeps a variety of birds happy
    Having read the two previous negative reviews, I wanted to leave a review. I have been buying the Favourites Blend and Favourites Blend Extra for a few years now and have always found the quality very good. Yes, the birds do leave the sunflower seeds until last, but they do come back and finish them. I have a reasonable variety of birds - loads of Starlings and also a lot of Black Birds, but also Sparrows, Chaffinches, Robins, Blue Tits, Great Tits, Collared Doves, Wood Pigeons, Magpies and Jackdaws, plus the odd other variety for a quick visit every now and then. I mostly feed it from the ground and very rarely is anything left at the end of the day and I do put quite a lot down. In fact during breeding season it can be gone in 30 minutes and I could leave several more lots during the day and it would still be eaten. My garden does have a few large trees overlooking it and the birds are waiting every morning for me to leave the food out, The black birds don't even wait for me to leave and come down whilst I'm still there. One of them is so brave he comes into our kitchen if the back door is open and there is no food out! I have proof on my phone as I have filmed him! I know it is the same one as he is slightly larger in size and has a larger beak. Anyway, I have not had a bad batch yet and will definitely continue to use this food as well as your suet pellets and no grow ground mix - all are very good quality. I have tried other, cheaper priced food and that is often left uneaten.
    RSPB response
    Thank you so much for this lovely review! It is great to hear that you and the birds are enjoying this mix.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 35 - 44

    03/Jul/2020
    Excellent feed
    I have tried all of the feeds from the RSPB and this is by far the most popular with our birds. It is used in a vertical squirrel proof feeder. Different birds like different seeds and interestingly the seeds that some of the birds throw out attracts the ground feeding birds as well. Enjoying this feed we have: Goldfinches, Greater Spotted Woodpeckers, Siskins, Blue Great Coal and Willow Tits, Bullfinches, Greenfinches, Chaffinch, Starlings and Nuthatches.

    I would highly recommend this feed if you have a variety of birds and want to keep them happy with one feed. We have one other feeder with just peanuts in.
    RSPB response
    Thank you - this review should help others. We'd love to see a photo of the birds enjoying the blend in your anti-squirrel feeder! Send to shopping@rspb.org.uk if you snap one.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 65+

    11/Jun/2020
    Too much sunflower seed
    My garden attracts starlings sparrows, blue tits, blackbirds, robins, wagtails, collar doves, wood pigeons, magpies, jackdaws. I use the feed on a bird table and in feeders. The feeders are emptied by the birds every day, but all of the sunflower seeds end up on the ground as the birds pick them out and dump them, so most of the bulk of this feed is of no value. The table attracts the larger birds and most of the feed goes but the sunflower seeds are last to go. Disappointing.
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. Unfortunately birds will often eat their favourite ingredients first. We know that Sunflower Hearts are popular, but Suet Sprinkles and Dried Mealworms are even more so.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    09/Jun/2020
    Not favourite at all!
    I spent £39.99 on a large sack of Favourites Blend- what a waste of money!
    The birds eat the mealworms and suet pieces but will not touch the sunflower seeds. It’s as if they are poisonous.
    There is obviously a serious quality control issue here. I have always been happy with RSPB bird food before but feel a refund or voucher would be a welcome gesture for this product and I would expect to see it removed from sale so that others do not waste money.
    RSPB response
    We are sorry to hear this. There are no quality issues with the Sunflower Hearts. Birds will eat their favourite ingredients first (suet, mealworm) and wait for them to be refilled. We would recommend giving them more time with the hearts.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    Show all

    Recently viewed