RSPB Ultimate Easy-clean® seed feeder

RSPB > Bird care > Bird feeders > Seed feeders

    We have taken our years of expertise to develop this durable and easy to clean bird feeder. The top and base are made from durable zinc alloy, and the polycarbonate tube won't crack, discolour or fade in the sun.

    Easy to disassemble and clean, this large size easy-clean feeder comes with six ports and 1.5 litre capacity for straight and mixed seeds.

    The modern, fresh design will also look great in your garden, and especially wonderful when your gardens birds are queuing up to take a perch.




    Features
    6 ports |68.3 cm tall (including the handle) |6.3 cm diameter |Capacity 1.5 litre

    Specification
    Castings: Zinc-alloy - powder coated Tube: Polycarbonate
    RSPB
    • Suitable Wildlife
      Birds

    Standard delivery to the UK and Channel Islands is £3.95.
    You'll only ever pay one delivery charge per order.

    Delivery is FREE if your order sub-total is £75 or more.
    Delivery is FREE if you order only Pressies that protect, RSPB gift cards and/or RSPB gift membership.

    Next working day delivery is available for in-stock items ordered before 3pm to UK addresses - £5.95
    Choose the day delivery is available for in-stock items to UK addresses - £5.95
    (Items that can be personalised and products sent direct from the supplier are not available for next day or choose the day delivery. Some postcodes are also excluded.)

    See our delivery and returns page for full details.

    Keeping your bird feeders clean will help keep your birds healthy, happy and coming back for more.

    To clean your feeder you now need to simply twist the base to remove it, then pull the central pin out, which will release the perches. The lid is also easy to remove. You can then clean the tube and perches with suitable disinfectant or mild bleach solution, rinse, then leave to dry.

    For more information on how to clean your feeder please take a look at our bird feeder guide.

    Rating Snapshot

    5
    11
    4
    3
    3
    8
    2
    6
    1
    14

    Average Customer Reviews

    Value for money:
    Quality

    We'd like your opinion! Rate and review this item

    Age: 65+

    16/Jul/2018
    Not squirrel proof!!
    I have 2 of these feeders. One with the perches made of metal the other plastic. Whilst the young squirrels can sharpen their teeth on the metal perches they can chew right through the plastic ones destroying them in 2 hours. Please revert to the metal perch feeder
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review. Our Ultimate feeders are all made of durable zinc alloy. It sounds like you are referring to our classic feeders, which we do state on the product page not suitable for gardens with squirrels.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 45 - 54

    03/Jun/2018
    Disappointing feeders
    I purchased 4 of the new easy clean medium sized feeders and I also wish I had read these reviews because seeds do not flow easily and you have to keep shaking them to help the birds feed. Considering the price of 4 of these feeders, I'm really disappointed and I'm now having to look elsewhere as these are too frustrating. I have a couple of other feeders the birds clearly find easier to use so you can tell the birds are equally frustrated! It is a shame as I prefer to buy from the RSPB but not where these feeders are concerned
    RSPB response
    Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with these feeders. Please contact our customer service team and ask to be passed to the buying team regarding this issue so we can try and help.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 55 - 64

    14/May/2018
    Great Feeders
    I use two 6 port feeders and was concerned going from the previous design to this one as I felt the perches were quite wide. I need not have been concerned as all species of birds readily accepted them and they are being well used. I have found no problems with any seed used albeit I focus these on a mixed seed,
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 45 - 54

    30/Apr/2018
    Fantastic feeder
    I have both 4 and 6 port feeders and they are the best value, quality and easy to clean feeders I have ever bought. I am ordering more to replace older not so good ones. Great purchases
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:

    Age: 55 - 64

    21/Apr/2018
    Prefer the previous easy clean feeder
    This new style easy clean feeder has far too many fiddly bits to clean. Not easy to take apart and not easy to re-assemble. Also as others have pointed out the seed clogs. It happens in all weather conditions. Please bring back the previous version.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    04/Feb/2018
    Problem with difficulty of access and narrow aperture
    we find that the usual tits and finches, who use happily our other feeders, check up this feeder but don't seem to be able to reach the sunflower seeds. The aperture is quite narrow and the light sunflower hearts don't descend properly, so that the birds cannot access it.
    We need to shake it regularly, otherwise no seed gets eaten. We even tried taking away the other feeders, but it still doesn't work with sunflower heart.
    Also, the perches are not adapted to small bird claws.
    We are sending back this product, which we can't use.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry you are unhappy with these feeders. We understand there have been ongoing reviews regarding clogging issues with our Ultimate's. We are keen to resolve this issue and are currently testing possible options. Please be aware that the current season and temperature changes will contribute to clogging.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    03/Feb/2018
    Sun flower seeds not feeding down, clogging
    They are easy to strip to clean but the sun flower seeds are clogging around the parts inside the tube, you have to keep tapping the feeders to get the seed to drop for the birds. I bought a small & a medium one it happens on both. When I replaced my old feeders with these the birds started using them straight away I was getting loads of birds on them but now hardly any because they cannot get at the seeds because the seeds do not feed down, I will have to put my old ones back up to feed them

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry you are unhappy with these feeders. We understand there have been ongoing reviews regarding clogging issues with our Ultimate's. We are keen to resolve this issue and are currently testing possible options. Please be aware that the current season and temperature changes will contribute to clogging.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    11/Jan/2018
    Excellent feeder and guardian
    This is the best RSPB feeder we've bought. We live in a suburb, near a park with many squirrels, parakeets and pigeons. The last feeder, same size and with the appropriate guardian, was emptied daily by parakeets and squirrels. With this one they can reach to clean the dropped seed on the tray but can't reach the feeder ports. The last design of feeder and guardian allowed squirrels to get close enough to damage the ports. This feeder is still damage free after nearly nine months, very easy to take apart and clean. We've recently bought another one so one is washed and drying while the other is in use. We use premium sunflower seeds and have had no clogging problems. The instructions for taking the feeder apart and putting it back together were adequate but perhaps could be even clearer, with better diagrams? I'm so sorry other people have had problems because it really has been the "ultimate feeder" for our purposes.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    07/Jan/2018
    Why fix something that is not broken?
    The 'easy-clean' feature of this feeder is brilliant. However, why have you changed the size of the perches? My small birds immediately stopped using this feeder and moved over to my clinger feeder - even if they are not the clinging type (which means that some are struggling to get food). Whilst I note from your earlier comments that the birds will eventually get used to it, why are we forcing them to cope with change when there appears to be no need for it?
    I'm ordering a new 'old-fashioned' feeder - more cumbersome to clean perhaps, but at least it will allow my smaller birds to feed easily (which surely is the reason we leave food out for them, isn't it?)
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    03/Jan/2018
    Poor
    The birds ignore this feeder as the seeds don't drop down to the level of the feeding holes. A waste of money!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    30/Dec/2017
    Clogging of seed and birds no longer using feeders
    Since putting these feeders up I have had fewer birds coming to them. The finches and sparrows do not like them at all. The tits eventually started using them after several weeks but I have to keep shaking the seed down as it does not drop down on its own. The port holes seem
    extra small compared with other feeders I have had and combined with the quick release mechanism behind each set of holes which prevents the seed descending properly, the birds are unable to reach the seed. The wider perches may also be putting them off. I will have to look for an alternative until this design is sorted out. This purchase was an expensive mistake for me.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you are unhappy with this feeder. We have carried out further testing on these feeders, and as you can see from the photos on the product page have had a lot of success with a variety of birds being successfully able to feed. We would recommend persevering with the feeders as birds do take time to adjust to new feeders.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Dec/2017
    Blocks easily
    They've tried to be too clever with this feeder design. It clogs up much more readily than before. The birds don't seem to like the perches either. The best all round design was the previous one with hand screw in post perches and deeper apertures for the feed to be presented and not clogged.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    22/Dec/2017
    Disappointing
    Such a disappointment! I use no mess seed mix, and it doesn't flow down the feeder. I have to shake the feeder frequently during the day to get the seed down to the feeding holes.
    I cannot recommended this. It may be easy clean, but doesn't function as it should. Waste of money.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    17/Dec/2017
    Good, but could be better.
    I have two of these and though they're easy to take apart and reassemble to clean, I find that sunflower heart seeds don't drop to the feeding ports as the birds empty them. Several times a day during winter I have to shake the feeders to allow more seed to drop down to the ports when ideally gravity should take care of this and provide a constant supply of seeds for the birds with no need for me to disturb them. These feeders are very well made, but they need al little modifying before I'd think of buying another one.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    01/Dec/2017
    Clogs up
    Terrible design. I bought two of these feeders and in both of them the seed gets clogged up in the tube and fails to reach the feeder port at the bottom. This can only be resolved by a good shake whiich is extremely inconvenient and given the price paid exceedingly disapppointing.

    The only alternative seems to be feeders which have a screw and bolt type fixing to dismantle it and they are too fiddly to reassemble. I've previously had very good rspb feeders with a screw assemble perch which were relatively easy to clean but you don't seem to stock these anymore.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear of the issues you have had with these feeders. Please contact our customer service team who will be able to assist you with a refund or replacement.

    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    28/Nov/2017
    Problem feeder-
    Yet another RSPB supporter who has had a problem with this feeder - wish I had read all the reviews. Must be a design fault.
    Maybe you should stop selling until resolved?
    I will also phone for refund.
    Small birds definitely do not like it, the perches are peculiar, the seeds clog and there is wastage. First time have ever had problem with a RSPB feeder.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were unhappy with this feeder. Whilst we understand that we have received reviews regarding the product's suitability and are looking to update the design, the amount of negative reviews compared to the number of feeders sold is relatively small, and we have received positive responses to the feeders, not just negative, therefore we will not take it off the market. Again, I apologise that you are unhappy with the feeder. Please contact our customer service team for a full refund.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    30/Oct/2017
    Buying more
    It took some time for the birds to get used to the perches but now they are v happy. I am happy because they are easy to dismantle and clean.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, it is great to hear how happy you and your birds are with the product. It does take some time for birds to adjust to new feeders, but it is always worth it in the end!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    21/Oct/2017
    Perches not quite right
    I have the large feeder and the medium feeder I agree with other comments about the perches not been right , despite the goldfinches fighting to get onto my other feeders with round perches they generally ignore these feeders.
    Easy to clean and dismantle facility is great, I do struggle to get the base and the tray back on though.

    RSPB response: Thank you for you review, I am sorry that you are unhappy with these feeders. We have taken on board customer feedback regarding the perches used for the Ultimates, and are currently looking to improve the range based on these reviews.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    20/Oct/2017
    Just Useless for premium sunflower seeds
    I've bought RSPB feeders and bird food for many years now and recently replaced an old feeder the newer style one. However the premium sunflower hearts just stick in situ so that after a initial feed the birds cannot get to the food. I have to shake the feeder daily so that they fall down. Disappointed as there's been a significant decline in birds coming to feed over the 3 months That I've been using the feeder. Don't want to buy a non RSPB type as I like to support you but this design just isn't working.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with this feeder. We are aware of some issues with food getting stuck, and are currently working with our suppliers to update the feeders to resolve this. Please contact our customer service team who will be able to offer a replacement or a refund.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    14/Oct/2017
    Starlings taking over!
    I do like this feeder, unfortunately so do the starlings. It only took about a week before the birds started to use it but not as many as my last feeder. i think it is the wide perches they do not like especially the smaller ones.
    The starlings usually stick to feeding on the ground or fighting over the fat balls, but they have realised they can use the perches on this one and regularly scare the other birds away. They have even had a go at my new niger seed feeder!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Sep/2017
    amazing
    This feeder (the 4 port one) was recommended to me by my son. I have bought 3 of them and our garden is constantly full of birds. They are the best quality I have seen on the market and really easy to use. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    05/Sep/2017
    Not as good as the old style
    The new style feeder are hard to take apart and if you manage that they are harder to put together. Not a patch on the old style feeders with the screw in perches.

    My feeders get a lot of use and are emptied regularly, I am not sure how long these will last..

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to heat you did not find this product easy to use. We are currently developing a new easy clean design of feeder and will take your comments on board regarding this.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    18/Aug/2017
    Assembly is too difficult
    I have a lot of trouble re-assembling this feeder after cleaning. Sometimes I manage it but cannot be sure to repeat my success next time. You once had a truly easy clean feeder, which hade a long rod that humid from the top and held the perches together at the bottom. I bought one but by the time I tried to buy another it had been discontinued. There's never been anything to match it. I prefer the feeders with screw-in perches to this one.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you have had difficulty with this feeder. We do have instructions available on how to take this feeder apart and put it back together, or you can visit your local reserve shop who will be happy to go through it with you. We are also working on a new, easier mechanism for our feeders.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    01/Aug/2017
    Love this feeder
    I am very happy with this larger version of the feeder. It is easy to clean and robust. The birds love it too
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    01/Aug/2017
    Best bird feeders I have ever bought
    They are sturdy and easy to clean. The birds were a bit miffed at first by the perches but it didn't take them long to catch on. I have replaced all my bird feeders with this type.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    12/Jul/2017
    Disappointed
    I have tried with this for several months now and birds just don't use it. I have given up and will look for an alternative. I would not recommend this until the design fault is rectified. It is easy to clean though!

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I apologise that you are disappointed with this feeder. It can take a couple of months for birds to take to new feeders. We are currently in the process of reviewing this product with our suppliers to introduce any improvements which may help with the feedback given by customers regarding the perches and clogging.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    26/Jun/2017
    Smaller than expected!
    I recently purchased two of the ultimate bird feeders, but was surprised when I unpacked the parcel, at how small they were. The measurements given included the wire hanging handle. This is very misleading and I feel that although you state the capacity, the size given needs also to make this clear.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review. I apologise for the confusion with the dimensions, we have now updated the product information.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Jun/2017
    design fault
    I have persevered with this feeder for over 6 months now and the birds are really not keen on it. I think the thick perches put them off, also it keeps clogging so I have to shake it to ensure the seed moves down the tube. However it is easy to clean but that's no good if it doesn't work!

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry you are unhappy with this feeder. We are aware of customer responses regarding the perches and the clogging, and are currently looking into any improvements we can make with our supplier.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    30/May/2017
    Clogging
    I agree with an earlier review about it clogging up. I use it for sunflower hearts for the gold finches, and every morning I have to shake to loosen them, doesn't matter what the weather is like. The birds did take some time to get used to them and I use the perch rings, but I watch daily the finches enjoying the food.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you have finches enjoying your feeder even though it took some time, however are are sorry to hear of the issues with clogging. After looking at the reviews regarding this we will be raising this issue with our supplier.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    11/May/2017
    Great
    Great all round, lasts in all weather condition. We have had this for ages and it still works!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    27/Apr/2017
    Unsuitable perches
    Birds don't like this feeder as the perches are rectangular rather than round. Birds are used to perching on tree and shrub branches which are round - not square!!

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review. Most birds will come to the feeder after a period of time once they have got used to the change however we will take on board your comments about the shape. The perch rings that can be attached to the Ultimate feeders offer an increased surface area and are flat so this may help to encourage the birds in your garden to use the feeder.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    15/Apr/2017
    Perches are not usable.
    I ordered this for a friend and we were dismayed that hardly any seed is being taken. I looked at it today and realised that the perches seem too wide for a small bird to clutch. Coincidentally I had ordered two small round, clear plastic perches for my own feeders but instead tried them on his. They fitted perfectly and I hope the seed will now be taken. If so, I will order four more. Although I do feel the feeder should be fitted with perches that small birds can use in the first place rather than having to pay out more money for proper perches. Some people might not do this, or indeed realise they can do it and lose interest in feeding birds which would be a great shame.

    Thank you for your review: Sorry to hear that the perches were not well received. We did test the perches and didn't find that they deterred any birds, however we will take your feedback on board and look into this.We do sell perch rings to fit the ultimate feeders but they should not be necessary and are only an add on purchase. In the meantime we're pleased to hear that you have found alternative perches which we hope the birds will use.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    24/Mar/2017
    Easwily destroyed
    Two purchased, both destroyed by squirrells within a couple of weeks.

    Thank you for your review, sorry to hear that your feeders were destroyed by squirrels, they are made from very tough polycarbonate and zinc alloy so this is a surprise. Please could you contact customer services preferably with pictures and we will do our best to help.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    16/Mar/2017
    First thoughts good, then it rained hard.
    We find the feeders good and easy to clean but if it's very wet, the seed gets wet. I think it's the clear plastic tube which is flexible against the metal inserts and that's where water tends to seep in. The seeds then become saturated and don't flow down the tube and we have to change and wash everything. They do hold a large amount of seed. Surprising really. The wet seed isn't wasted we put it on the ground for the blackbirds, collared doves and wood pigeons.
    It would be excellent if it didn't leak.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that the seed is getting very wet, it sounds like the ports aren't fitting as well as they should. It would be really useful if you could contact customer services with more details and they will be able to help you.

    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    14/Mar/2017
    70/30!
    Despite being in the same place as a previous feeder and using the same food, it did take the birds a good few weeks before they decided to use it but once they did they were as voracious as ever. I have not found a clogging problem as one reviewer did. I have just taken it apart for the first time to clean, with some difficulty. My husband had to attack it for me but it is now apart ready to clean, so I live in hope it will go back together properly! I did think the last easy clean feeder I had, with the central pin to pull out from the top, worked fine for me!

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that the birds like the feeders after a few weeks. We do say it can take time so glad you persevered. With regards to cleaning it is designed to be really quick and easy, taking less than 30 seconds to dismantle. It might be worth popping into your local rspb shop and ask for a demo if you can or speak to our product team at HQ. We hope you and the birds enjoy the feeder for years to come.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    21/Jan/2017
    Unhappy birds
    This feeder is not bird friendly . I tried it for one month in my garden and 1 month in another. In both gardens the birds would not take to it . They seem nervous of the whole thing, attempting to get to the perches then flying off. Is it the peculiar shape perches? I telephoned rspb who have agreed to refund. Please take it off the market. The birds are trying to tell us something! Ps. They love my previous feeder with the ridged metal perches and seed tray.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear that your birds didn't enjoy the feeder, we have sold more of these feeders than our others and most of the feedback has been very positive. As the RSPB we make sure that feeders are suitable for the birds before anything goes to sale and they are tested. The perches are something we can look into if we feel there is a problem, however it is worth noting that with the previous feeders we had more complaints about the perches being ridged. Your feedback will definitely be recorded and if there does seem to be a problem with the perch shape we will of course investigate.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    12/Jan/2017
    Bad design
    Not only do the birds not like this clunky design, but I just made the mistake of taking it apart to clean it - it seems the dirt was the only thing keeping it together as now the base doesn't seem to lock in at all and it is so loose that one squirrel disturbing it will mean it falling out and all the seed spilling to the floor. Product return I think.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you are not happy with the product. The Ultimate easy clean is designed to be very easy to clean and the lock should click into place securely not moving at all. It sounds like there is a fault with the product if the lock is not working. Please do return the product so we can investigate, contact customer services to do this and arrange a replacement or alternative.

    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    03/Jan/2017
    A little disappointing
    I have tried sunflower hearts, mixed seed and black sunflower seeds. None of them seem to slip down and I have to go out every morning and shake the feeder! Of the three, the black sunflower seeds being in their shells are better,and maybe in drier weather they will slip down!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    30/Nov/2016
    Seems expensive but you won't regret!
    It is only really when you come to clean these feeders that you come to appreciate what you have paid all that money for. The simplicity of taking them apart and reassembling, allowing a proper clean inside and out is almost joyous!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    27/Nov/2016
    A bit disappointed
    I purchased a feeder and perch rings about 6 weeks ago and placed it near an old feeder for a week or so. When I removed the old one it took 3 weeks before the birds used the new one. Ok so far but then it rained! Because the ports are not screwed together pulling them close to the tube water enters around the ports and seed gets wet/soggy and dose not flow. I think I will have to put a squeeze of silicone around the ports. Was the weather not taken into account by the designer?

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, it can take time for birds to use a new feeder whilst they get used to it. The product was tested in all weathers over a period of time and the ports did not get water logged, however your comments will be passed on to our product team who will look into this matter.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    31/Oct/2016
    Birds don't like it
    I already have 2 large 6 port feeders and thought I would buy this to add extra feeding for the flocks of birds that have found sanctuary in my garden, and probably due to the fact that the word has gone out they know I serve only the best.
    I filled it, I put it out, and not a single bird has stayed long enough to eat anything, they prefer to queue for the other two older style feeders, I think I know why, the perches are a lot wider and it seems the smaller birds can't wrap their toes around the perch, they have to stand flat footed and it's doesn't seem to come naturally to them.
    I have even left the other feeders empty to encourage them to try the new one, all they do is line up in the trees and bushes and stare at me through the window until I relent.
    I will persevere and hope I haven't wasted my money, it is a bit on the expensive side.
    I will keep you posted on any developments

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review and comments about the new Ultimate feeder. The perches were designed to be wider as we got a lot of feedback requesting this to allow more birds to feed. The wider perches were tested and found to be safe and easy for the birds to use, we also have perch rings(to be bought separately) that allow even more birds to come to the feeder at the same time. The other thing to take in to consideration is that birds will not always come to a new feeder straight away, they can be wary at first and it is worth preserving as you have said. Hopefully you are already starting to see the birds use the feeder now alongside the others.

    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    28/Oct/2016
    Excellent feeder so far
    I've bought two of these recently and am very pleased with them. They look good and are extremely easy to take apart to clean and reassemble.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    Show all