RSPB > Bird care > Bird houses & nest boxes > Garden bird nest boxes

    Hand crafted by UK joiners, this swift nesting box is made from FSC certified softwood. The unique design for the RSPB is suited for swifts.

    The entry hole measures 65 mm x 29 mm and is set at one end of the nest box.
    With its easy-access panel on the front, inspection and cleaning is simple and straightforward.




    Features
    Measures 46 cm x 18 cm x 19.5 cm |Fixing screws not included

    RSPB
    R402646
    • Recipient
      Bird watchers
      Home and garden
      Nature lovers

    Standard delivery to the UK and Channel Islands is £3.95.
    You'll only ever pay one delivery charge per order.

    Delivery is FREE if your order sub-total is £75 or more.
    Delivery is FREE if you order only Pressies that protect, RSPB gift cards and/or RSPB gift membership.

    Next working day delivery is available for in-stock items ordered before 3pm to UK addresses - £5.95
    Choose the day delivery is available for in-stock items to UK addresses - £5.95
    (Items that can be personalised and products sent direct from the supplier are not available for next day or choose the day delivery. Some postcodes are also excluded.)

    See our delivery and returns page for full details.

    Install at least 5 m (16 ft) above ground.
    Make sure there is completely unobstructed airspace in front of the nest, allowing the swifts to fly at high speed directly into the nest.
    Make sure the nest location is undisturbed by people or predators.
    Place in a well shaded position, to prevent overheating, preferably fitted in north to east facing direction.
    The swift nest box is designed with a wider back than the body of the box, intended so that there is a choice to fix it to a wall or an overhanging eave/soffit on a house.
    We have not provided pilot holes because different wall positions will have different brick/mortar joint positions. The wall holes need to be drilled to suit by the customer, followed by then matching those holes with ones made in the back board or roof ends.

    Rating Snapshot

    5
    5
    4
    1
    3
    2
    2
    2
    1
    0

    Average Customer Reviews

    Value for money:
    Quality

    We'd like your opinion! Rate and review this item

    16/Jan/2018
    Bo fixing
    With regards to the 'no instruction' reviews....please please, this is so simple to look at - assess and just screw it up. How difficult is it to look at the box, look at the where your swifts would go and ...well just do it.
    Do people need instructions for other obvious products like this? Birds go into nests, so place nests where they go.
    As for construction...same logic. How do birds cope with no instructions? beats me.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    13/Jun/2017
    No Instructions
    Astonished that despite the complaints here our box arrived to day with NO instructions and NO fixings.

    However many other oganisitons have advice on line - just google 'where to put swift box' - though its inconsistent so you end up making your own choice and hoping you havent just wasted your money

    Eg some say have the entrance hole downwards, some say not south facing etc etc

    WAKE UP there RSPB and get your act together

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I apologise that you did not receive instructions. Please contact customer services who will be able to send this out to you. We do try to include as much advice as possible on the product information page, and also on http://shopping.rspb.org.uk/nestboxes

    With regards to the fixing, the product information does state that these are not included. This is due to the fact we do not know what substrate the fixing will go into and therefore cannot accurately select the length of the screw and whether or not it needs a rawplug.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Jan/2017
    simply well made
    I bought 4 of these swift boxes, having already a nesting site (11yrs +) in a split fascia board. I hope to encourage more of these sociable birds. Very well designed with over-lap edges Simple to erect, and pleasing to look upon. Well done for producing this quality product. No complaints.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Sep/2016
    No instructions
    The product seems well made and was received as a gift: I note that other customers have stated that no instructions were received with the product and that this problem has not been rectified from earlier customers. I don't know what fixings I should use. Please can someone help?

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't receive instructions with the nest box. There are available instructions which we can send you, please could you get in touch with customer services so we can offer you the advice you need.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    15/Apr/2016
    Nice wee boxes
    I've put up 2 of these swift boxes today. They are well built (arrived pre-assembled) and are not heavy. A booklet on where to site your box was included, I do not think further instructions are necessary. I fixed it to the wall by drilling through the backplate at each end, but you could use brackets (not included,nor are screws). Cross fingers the swifts come back safely in a week or so, and utilise the boxes!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    14/Jun/2014
    Still no instructions
    The extent of the advice is what is published here. I think the photo is misleading as there is no visible means of support, implying the screw should be inside the box. I think that would be very fiddly 6m up a ladder! A bit more clarity on what the designers had in mind would be good. Having said that I echo all the other comments. Very we'll made and presented.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    17/Jun/2013
    Very good product
    The box is lovely and when I ordered I was told that instructions would be included. They were not and when I enquired and I was told to look on the website. This box will be put in place by a painting contractor and an instruction leaflet would have been ideal. It seems that the packers have not been informed of your reply to the previous reviewer that ""instructions will be sent out in future"". (see 19 May 2012)

    RSPB response - Thanks for your review. Apologies for the lack of instruction leaflet. There should have been one in the box. Thanks for letting us know.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    11/Oct/2012
    I would recommend this Swift box
    This looks like a good implementation of a well known design. The entrance slanting downwards is good for Swifts. The material looks great and the carpentry is really professional. It is only suitable under broad eaves; it should not be exposed to the sun and rain.
    It would be useful if there were dimensions, internal and external, on the website.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    23/May/2012
    Well made and good value
    I purchased this Swift nestbox (and sparrow nestbox) back in february and mounted them under the eaves of my house facing in a northeasterly direction. My first impression of the swift nestbox was how well constructed it was. It really is a good solid box that should last for many years. It has attracted the attention of housesparrows and they have started nestbuilding but I`m still very pleased that it is being put to good use. I watch them daily.
    I may be moving house in a few years time but will be leaving behind the nestboxes and will be buying a new swift nestbox for my new home.
    I highly recommend this nestbox.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    19/May/2012
    Fixing
    A well made box, but with no instructions as to how to fix it. It seems difficult to believe that the RSPB don't include helpful instructions.

    RSPB response - Thanks for your review. We are now sending out an instruction leaflet with swift nestboxes.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    Show all

    You may also like