RSPB > Bird food

    This ground mix has been designed in a way that makes the seed mix much less likely to germinate than standard seed mixes. All of the ingredients have been prepared and cut in a way that limits germination, but still offers great nutrition.

    The mix is quick and easy for the birds to eat with no shells for birds to crack open or for you to sweep up. Trials have shown that all ingredients are popular with ground feeding birds.

    The high-energy mix includes sunflower hearts, rolled oats, suet sprinkles and flaked maize, a great treat for robins, blackbirds, song thrushes and many other ground-feeding species.



    Type of bird
    • Blackbird
    • Chaffinch
    • Goldfinch
    • Greenfinch
    • Song thrush
    • Wren


    RSPB
    M408711
    • Type of Food
      Seed mixes
    • Harmful to Dogs
      Yes
    • Suitable Wildlife
      Birds
    • Recipient
      Bird lovers
    • £3.95 - Standard delivery to the UK and Channel Islands
    • FREE - for orders of £75 or more, or if you order only RSPB gift cards and/or a catalogue.
    • £5.95 - Next working day delivery (only for in-stock items ordered before 3pm to UK addresses*)
    • £5.95 - Choose the day delivery (only for in-stock items ordered before 3pm to UK addresses*)

    *Items that can be personalised and products sent direct from the supplier are not available for next day or choose the day delivery. Some postcodes are also excluded.

    See our delivery and returns page for full details.

    RSPB Shop offers a no-quibble free returns policy. We hope you will be delighted with every purchase, but if not, we will offer you a replacement or a full refund - whatever the reason. Just let us know within 90 days of delivery by contacting our customer service team on 0345 034 7733. Full details of our returns policy >
    Keep this bird food out of reach of dogs, as it contains vine fruits, which can be harmful to dogs if eaten.

    Rating Snapshot

    5
    6
    4
    2
    3
    3
    2
    3
    1
    4

    Average Customer Reviews

    Value for money:
    Quality

    We'd like your opinion! Rate and review this item

    Age: 65+

    25/Jul/2018
    Flake mad
    I have purchased this before and it wasn’t too bad but the last delivery had far too much of the yellow flakes, so much so that I had to sieve each time I fed the birds. The only birds to eat the flakes were the pigeons who are not welcomed in my garden.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    06/Feb/2018
    Happy birds
    Have bought this mix from you for many years and am purchasing more today, as during the great Garden Bird Watch weekend much was consumed.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    21/Jan/2018
    Blackbirds love it
    I am surprised to see the poor reviews of this mix. When I put it out, it is never there long enough to go soggy as the blackbirds, robins and other birds are down there straight away eating it up.
    During the snow and hard frosts, when other food was hard to find, half a dozen blackbirds would actually mob me when I came out the house, knowing that I was about to give them some food. The blackbirds are normally quite shy, but they would stand inches away from me as I put the food out for them.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear how much your birds enjoy this mix.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    13/Jan/2018
    Disappointed
    I purchased this product for first time this week,but was very disappointed with it as consisted of a lot of dust. As it is similar to favourites blend which is a great favourite I thought I'd try it. I have one of the ground feeder trays and a lo5 fell through . Will not buy again.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you got a bag with too much dust. We did have some issues with this product and the amount of dust it had in packs. We have now amended the mix so that we don't have excess dust.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    26/Aug/2017
    Rain on the food
    As soon as I put this food out the birds quickly cleared it up.As there are so many cats nearby I keep the tray in a RSPB cage.Sparrows,dunnocks, goldfinch 's and the robin are the most regular visitors.Blackbirds can get into the cage but are wary of it.The downside to this food is when it rains.After a while a lot of the food turns into a sloppy mess and the tray needs cleaned immediately.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, its great to hear how pleased you and your birds are with this product! We now sell a ground feeding table with a roof which can provide some protection to the food from rain!
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Aug/2017
    Rubbish!
    This mix is very poor, a high proportion of wheat ,which none of the birds eat ,not even the pigeons!
    No grow is not true ,the wheat grows very well!!!!!

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review. I am shocked to read this as we do not put wheat in our No Grow Ground Mix. The only mix we have that contains wheat is our Table Mix, which is included for Doves and Pigeons, however it certainly isn't a high proportion. Please can you get in contact with our customer service team with the batch number of your bag and to supply a sample, so we can look into this urgently for you with our supplier.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    19/Aug/2017
    Blackbirds still not liking this
    I have 11 feeders and a ground feeder i have had this new feed for ages and it just sits there unlike the old product the blackbirds simply dont like it

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with this mix. We do advise to persevere when putting out new bird food, as it can take quite a while for birds to approach and try it.

    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    16/Aug/2017
    Disappointed ,
    Disappointed with this mix, it contains a high proportion of wheat which is never eaten by any of the visiting birds. I feed in a cage to prevent pigeons eating everything ,I know they would eat it but we would be inundated with them!
    I usually read what seed mixes contain and always avoid any with wheat but this isn't possible on this site.
    There's nothing like the amount of pink pellets shown on the picture either !
    I definitely won't be buying it again.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear about the mix you received. Please can you contact our customer service team with the batch number on your bag of seed so we can investigate this with our supplier.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    14/Aug/2017
    You can't please all of them all of the time
    I decided to try this in the hanging feeder because I noticed the tits were chucking the sunflower hearts out of the Favourites Blend Bird Food and eating the sprinkles and mealworms. I left this No Grow Ground Mix in the feeder for a few days but it was proving not popular with the smaller birds that like the hanging feeders, so I reverted back to the Favourites Blend and it is being eaten much quicker. I am throwing the No Grow Ground Mix on the ground and now we have 30+ Collared doves plus jackdaws, magpies, wood pigeons, rock doves and this week the noisy parakeets have started arriving at the banquet. It's going down quickly so I need to re-order.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    31/Jul/2017
    black birds hate it
    I have so many birds and the blackbirds liked the old mix they hate this and it sits there for days

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you are unhappy with this mix. We do advise that it can take some time for birds to adjust to new food, as they are very cautious creatures.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    25/Jun/2017
    Not as stated on the tin
    Much as I generally love the seed mixes and suet available from the RSPB, this one is nothing like the photograph. I ordered two 12.75kg sacks. Having opened one, and churned through it to try to find any of the red suet nibbles, I can't find a single one. The mix is (a visual estimate) 95% sunflowers with the rest rolled oats and corn (if I've got the last one right) but I'm yet to find anything red or made of suet. Please, please RSPB get your supplier to improve their quality checks.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry you are unhappy with this mix. Please can you contact customer services with the batch number and any photos of the mix you received so we can raise this with our supplier.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    19/Apr/2017
    Extremely Disappointed
    This does not do what it says on the bag, ""no grow"" does not apply. I note that you say that the feed is tested for gemination, I would suggest that the testing is reviewed, as I now have sprouting seeds all over the garden, and as Birdie said, there is a lot of dust. I had previously bought Premium Ground Mix and find this a very poor replacement, and will not be buying it again.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review. In order to investigate please would you kindly contact customer services with the batch number and any photos of growth so we can look into this with our supplier. After previous comments regarding the level of dust we have recently improved the mix to reduce the level of dust.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    29/Dec/2016
    Excellent
    I was pleased to see that there were no more raisins. They tended to get left over, especially from spring onwards and towards the end of summer the bird table was full of wasps drawn by the raisins. However, it does get a bit mushier than the old one I think but not enough to give it an excellent rating. I do complement it with sprinkles and dried worms.

    RSPB response: Thank you for the review and we are pleased you are happy with the new mix. We will look into the fact it gets a bit mushier than the old and try and improve the mix further.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    01/Dec/2016
    A good second best
    I agree with Birdie about regretting the withdrawal of the premium ground mix which although expensive, I bought a lot of. Unlike reviewers who rated that, the blackbirds and red squirrels loved the raisins, and if I was lucky enough to have had a song thrush here, as I had in my previous garden, they would have done also, so was sorry to see there are none in here, and can only assume they were too expensive to add, even though this is no cheaper than that mix. This is still very popular, with absolutely no waste, but does go mushy if it gets wet, as did the premium ground mix.. I also agree I couldn't afford to keep up with the demand for suet pellets so nice to see tiny bits in here. I would say though, the illustration makes them appear larger than they are. I will be buyingm ore of this.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    23/Oct/2016
    Brilliant food
    So surprised to read a negative review as I find this food brilliant! It's popular with all my birds and never a scrap left.
    The combination makes it an all rounder and it's good value for money.
    I do find that the birds are initially suspicious of a new food so may take a couple of days to accept....
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    19/Oct/2016
    Love this food
    I read the negative review and had to put things right! This food is excellent, I'm on my second bag. It's a brilliant all-rounder popular with all our garden birds. I couldn't afford to buy suet nibbles at the rate they are consumed so this food rations it out and includes all the other favourites. Will continue to feed it through winter...
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    21/Aug/2016
    No grow ground mix
    Purchased this recently. My birds do NOT like it.Food left over each day,even the pigeons wont touch it ! .Also very 'dusty'. A shame previous mix has been discontinued. One wonders if any field trials are carried out before new products are released.

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you are not happy with the No Grow Ground Mix and that you have found it to be very dusty, which should not be the case. We have fed these comments back to the supplier and are looking into this. We do test all new bird foods and found that birds enjoyed this mix and that seeds did not germinate. Please contact customer services who will be able to help
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    19/Aug/2016
    Great food, good combination
    I bought this mix as trying to find an economic alternative to the ever popular sprinkles and wanted to find a mix where there's no wastage. This mix fits the bill perfectly. We have a massive population of sparrows but also many other birds such as blackbirds, doves, tits, starlings and even the nuthatch visited this morning. This food seems to suit them all.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    Show all

    You may also like