RSPB Classic nut feeder & guardian small

RSPB > Sale and offers > Bird care offers

    Made with durable steel mesh our RSPB Classic nut feeder is great for peanuts or suet nibbles. Easy to clean, the feeder now also comes in this fantastic offer with a matching guardian.



    Type of bird
    • House sparrow
    • Robin
    • Starling
    • Wren
    • Tits
    • Finches

    Features
    Includes small classic nut & nibble feeder and matching guardian |Height 23 cm (feeder) |Capacity 330 g (peanuts)

    RSPB
    • Type of Feeder
      Mesh feeders for nuts and nibbles
      Plastic feeders
      Squirrel resistant feeders
    • Type of Food
      Peanuts and nibbles
    • Recipient
      Feeding birds

    Standard delivery to the UK and Channel Islands is £3.95.
    You'll only ever pay one delivery charge per order.

    Delivery is FREE if your order sub-total is £75 or more.
    Delivery is FREE if you order only Pressies that protect, RSPB gift cards and/or RSPB gift membership.

    Next working day delivery is available for in-stock items ordered before 3pm to UK addresses - £5.95
    Choose the day delivery is available for in-stock items to UK addresses - £5.95
    (Items that can be personalised and products sent direct from the supplier are not available for next day or choose the day delivery. Some postcodes are also excluded.)

    See our delivery and returns page for full details.

    To reduce the risk of them reaching your feeders and guardians, try to locate the feeder at least 2 metres away from any potential jumping off point such as a tree trunk, fence, post or wall, and consider using a baffle with the feeder.

    Rating Snapshot

    5
    1
    4
    0
    3
    0
    2
    1
    1
    2

    Average Customer Reviews

    Value for money:
    Quality

    We'd like your opinion! Rate and review this item

    16/May/2017
    Not great!
    Was so looking forward to getting this this but having put it together and filled with feed I discovered that the hook that protrudes from the cage is only a couple cm wide. Cannot hang on my tree, not even a hanging basket bracket! It's just not a big enough gap between cage and top of hook. It also cannot be stood flat as I discovered

    RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I am sorry you are unhappy with your feeder and guardian. Please can you contact our customer service team, as it sounds like there may be a fault with your product.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    26/Feb/2013
    A good investment
    Our experience has been very different from that of the other reviewers. We don't have squirrels on Skye but maybe our small birds are brighter because they got used to it in a matter of minutes and quickly began to favour it over the unprotected feeder. Our problem has also been jackdaws and, since the guardian defeats them completely, a refill of peanuts last about four times as long, so I expect it to pay for itself in saved seed in a month or two, plus we won't have to see tits and finches driven off by these unaggressive but large and clumsy competitors. Easy to fit, easy to fill. Try it?
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    09/Nov/2012
    Agree with other review
    I can't comment on squirrels as they are not a problem for us - it's the jackdaws who eat everything!
    As Sue says the small birds do not like it either! We have ours on a feeder pole which has been in several places in the garden over the past year. Blue tits are regular visitors to our neighbours gardens. We have very occasinally seen them on this feeder, but they never seem to stay. I am tired of throwing out mouldy peanuts and will be ordering one from another company.
    I suspect that the steelpy sloping base of the guardian may have something to do with their dislike, but will let you know when I have tried an alternative.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    18/Oct/2012
    Not a good buy
    This product does keep out squirrels as claimed. Unfortunately also keeps out the birds.
    We have had a guard for over a year now and the bird don't venture in, so the nuts just go mouldy!

    RSPB response - Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you're not happy with this product. You could try positioning the feeder in different places around the garden to see if the birds are happier using it. The size of the gaps on a feeder guardian is always a compromise between making sure that small birds can access the food and trying to deter squirrels. This is why we never claim our products are squirrel 'proof'.
    Value for money
    Quality
    Would you recommend?:
    Show all