(0) ITEM £0.00
 

Welcome to the RSPB online shop

Save nature while you shop

Got a catalogue? Use

Swift nestbox Swift nestbox

More Views

Value for money?
Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
9 Review(s)

Swift nestbox

SKU# R402646

£29.99
Qty

In stock

Product

Stock

Price

Qty

£29.99

In stock

Swift nestbox

(R402646)

Your message will look like this:
Dear Dad


Hope you have a lovely birthday


From Emma


Shopping with the RSPB helps save nature and wildlife

Value for money?
5 star :
44%
( 4 )
4 star :
22%
( 2 )
3 star :
11%
( 1 )
2 star :
22%
( 2 )
Recommend to a friend?
5 star :
44%
( 4 )
4 star :
11%
( 1 )
3 star :
11%
( 1 )
2 star :
11%
( 1 )
1 star :
22%
( 2 )
Meet expectations?
5 star :
44%
( 4 )
4 star :
11%
( 1 )
3 star :
11%
( 1 )
1 star :
33%
( 3 )
Total : 9 Reviews
Sort by:

9 Item(s)

10 20 50
9 Item(s) Show per page

No Instructions

Value for money?
Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
Astonished that despite the complaints here our box arrived to day with NO instructions and NO fixings.

However many other oganisitons have advice on line - just google 'where to put swift box' - though its inconsistent so you end up making your own choice and hoping you havent just wasted your money

Eg some say have the entrance hole downwards, some say not south facing etc etc

WAKE UP there RSPB and get your act together

RSPB response: Thank you for your review, I apologise that you did not receive instructions. Please contact customer services who will be able to send this out to you. We do try to include as much advice as possible on the product information page, and also on http://shopping.rspb.org.uk/nestboxes

With regards to the fixing, the product information does state that these are not included. This is due to the fact we do not know what substrate the fixing will go into and therefore cannot accurately select the length of the screw and whether or not it needs a rawplug. By Julian, on 13 Jun 2017
14 out of 18 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

simply well made

Value for money?
Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
I bought 4 of these swift boxes, having already a nesting site (11yrs +) in a split fascia board. I hope to encourage more of these sociable birds. Very well designed with over-lap edges Simple to erect, and pleasing to look upon. Well done for producing this quality product. No complaints. By PINKSNIPER, on 25 Jan 2017
18 out of 20 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

No instructions

Recommend to a friend?
Value for money?
Meet expectations?
The product seems well made and was received as a gift: I note that other customers have stated that no instructions were received with the product and that this problem has not been rectified from earlier customers. I don't know what fixings I should use. Please can someone help?

RSPB response: Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't receive instructions with the nest box. There are available instructions which we can send you, please could you get in touch with customer services so we can offer you the advice you need. By Emma, on 25 Sep 2016
8 out of 16 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Nice wee boxes

Value for money?
Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
I've put up 2 of these swift boxes today. They are well built (arrived pre-assembled) and are not heavy. A booklet on where to site your box was included, I do not think further instructions are necessary. I fixed it to the wall by drilling through the backplate at each end, but you could use brackets (not included,nor are screws). Cross fingers the swifts come back safely in a week or so, and utilise the boxes! By Bert, on 15 Apr 2016
23 out of 23 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Still no instructions

Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
Value for money?
The extent of the advice is what is published here. I think the photo is misleading as there is no visible means of support, implying the screw should be inside the box. I think that would be very fiddly 6m up a ladder! A bit more clarity on what the designers had in mind would be good. Having said that I echo all the other comments. Very we'll made and presented. By Mark, on 14 Jun 2014
31 out of 33 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Very good product

Value for money?
Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
The box is lovely and when I ordered I was told that instructions would be included. They were not and when I enquired and I was told to look on the website. This box will be put in place by a painting contractor and an instruction leaflet would have been ideal. It seems that the packers have not been informed of your reply to the previous reviewer that "instructions will be sent out in future". (see 19 May 2012)

RSPB response - Thanks for your review. Apologies for the lack of instruction leaflet. There should have been one in the box. Thanks for letting us know. By Pip, on 17 Jun 2013
34 out of 37 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

I would recommend this Swift box

Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
Value for money?
This looks like a good implementation of a well known design. The entrance slanting downwards is good for Swifts. The material looks great and the carpentry is really professional. It is only suitable under broad eaves; it should not be exposed to the sun and rain.
It would be useful if there were dimensions, internal and external, on the website. By Dick Newell, on 11 Oct 2012
66 out of 66 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Well made and good value

Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?
Value for money?
I purchased this Swift nestbox (and sparrow nestbox) back in february and mounted them under the eaves of my house facing in a northeasterly direction. My first impression of the swift nestbox was how well constructed it was. It really is a good solid box that should last for many years. It has attracted the attention of housesparrows and they have started nestbuilding but I`m still very pleased that it is being put to good use. I watch them daily.
I may be moving house in a few years time but will be leaving behind the nestboxes and will be buying a new swift nestbox for my new home.
I highly recommend this nestbox.
By SPARKS, on 23 May 2012
24 out of 25 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Fixing

Recommend to a friend?
Value for money?
Meet expectations?
A well made box, but with no instructions as to how to fix it. It seems difficult to believe that the RSPB don't include helpful instructions.

RSPB response - Thanks for your review. We are now sending out an instruction leaflet with swift nestboxes. By Annie, on 19 May 2012
16 out of 18 people found the above review helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Review this product

 

When reviewing this product please keep the following in mind: 

 

1.  Do not use expletives or aggressive language.
2.  Please do not recommend alternative places to buy products.
3.  Describe only this product in the review.
4.  Please do not post questions. If you'd like a response, please use the Contact us form instead.
5.  By submitting your review you are giving us permission to use it online and in other places.

 

 

If your review follows these guidelines it will be published. Thank you for following them. 

 

 

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Value for money?
Meet expectations?
Recommend to a friend?